You Need An Indiana DUI Accident Attorney At A 50-Year-Old Law Firm Helps With DUI Accidents
As with all states, driving while intoxicated is strictly prohibited in Indiana, but that doesn’t stop thousands of people from getting behind the wheel after drinking, thinking they’re just a little “buzzed” and that they are perfectly capable of driving. If you’re involved in an accident and suspect the other driver was drinking before or even while driving, you should immediately contact 911. After that, you should immediately contact an Indiana DUI accident attorney at Tofaute & Spelman to protect your legal claims and get you the compensation you deserve.
What Is Considered Drunk Driving in Indiana?
Indiana’s statutes regarding drunk driving are dense, complex, and difficult to understand. However, some of the laws are easier to digest. For starters, driving under the influence in Indiana is officially known as “Operating While Intoxicated” (OWI), but for purposes of simplicity, we’ll use the term “Driving Under the Influence” (DUI). So, for example, it is considered to be a DUI:
- A non-commercial driver over 21 years of age is considered intoxicated with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above .08 percent.
- A commercial driver over the age of 21 is considered to have committed a DUI violation if the person has a BAC at or above .04 percent.
- Any driver under the age of 21 is considered to have committed a DUI violation if the person has a BAC at or above .02 percent.
What Are the Penalties for DUIs in Indiana?
In Indiana, the penalties may be as severe as:
- First Offense: Up to one year jail time, $500 to $5,000 in fines, up to a one-year license suspension, and an additional one-year suspension for refusal to submit to a chemical test.
- Second Offense: Five days up to 2.5 years jail time, up to $10,000 in fines, at least a one-year, at most a 2.5-year license suspension, and an additional two-year suspension for refusal to submit to a chemical test.
- Third Offense: 10 days up to 2.5 years, plus up to another eight years if the prosecutor files a habitual substance offender enhancement jail time, up to $10,000 in fines, at least a one-year, at most a 10-year license suspension, and an additional two-year suspension for refusal to submit to a chemical test.
Additionally, there may be other potential consequences depending on the circumstances of your case, including;
- Additional expenses such as court costs, surcharges, reinstatement fees, and administrative fees.
- The costs of installing and maintaining an ignition interlock device.
- A five or 10-year driver’s license suspension for being a habitual traffic violator.
- An alcohol/substance abuse assessment.
- Required alcohol/substance abuse education.
How An Indiana DUI Accident Attorney at Tofaute & Spelman Can Help if You’ve Been Involved in a DUI Accident
Despite the harsh penalties involved, DUIs continue to happen in Indiana, costing thousands of dollars in damages and an uncountable cost in injuries and death. If you’ve been injured in an accident caused by a drunk driver, we’ll handle the opposing counsel, any insurance company involved, and an Indiana DUI accident attorney will work with law enforcement to coordinate the criminal and civil cases. Contact us today. We offer FREE consultations, same-day return phone calls, and emails, multilingual staff, and we are available 24/7/365.